Commentary Recommendation

I have been a big fan of the Tyndale New Testament commentaries for a while now. For this reason when I saw the Matthew volume for 50% off at PTS’s Cokesbury store I leaped at the opportunity to purchase it. I have not been disappointed. R.T. France does an excellent job in my estimation in developing a quality commentary on the tax collector’s gospel. It is very readable and engaging as well as evangelical and reformed. France deals decisively with progressive commentators who attempt to denigrate Matthew particularly and deftly deflects their attempts to cut his work into exegetical pieces all the while being respectful and careful. France also gives an excellent account of the Beatitudes and how they are properly to be understood and shows how they have been misused and misunderstood as ethical imperatives in our age. Now I am only on page 201 of 416 so I have not come upon the controversial passages in Matthew 24 & 25. Once I have I hope to give you a sense of how France deals with it. Also for those who are curious about the author’s take on Matthew 5:17 France gives the “normal” reformed response to the liberal, dispensational, and/or Marcionite attacks on Jesus and the Old Testament Law. One last thing before I give you the author’s biography. I think the author belies a “general equitist” understanding of the Old Testament Case Law.

About the Author – R.T. France

He was born 2 April 1938, educated at Bradford Grammar School and Balliol College, Oxford (MA). He earned his BD at the University of London and his PhD at the University of Bristol. He served as a curate in Cambridge and then[1]:

One thought on “Commentary Recommendation

Leave a Reply

