Reading For the Sabbath

Rev. Larimer of Adiaphora asked in a previous post on my blogging schedule what it was I was going to read on the Sabbath Day.  Well for the Sabbath Day I am reading through, seemingly for the first time, John Calvin’s Institutes of Christian Religion (Beveridge ed.). To get us started here is a heart-wrentching quote that will be the focus and purpose of this reading for the Lord’s Day.

“Such is pure and genuine religion, namely, confidence in God coupled with serious fear-fear, which both includes in it willing reverence, and brings along with it such legitimate worship as is prescribed by the law. And it ought to be more carefully considered that all men promiscuously do homage to God, but very few truly reverence Him. On all hands there is abundance of ostentatious ceremonies, but sincerity of heart is rare.”
— John Calvin, The Institutes of Christian Religion I.2.3

(By the way for those that are curious on Saturday’s I am reading Star Wars: The Thrawn Chronicles by Timothy Zahn)
3 thoughts on “Reading For the Sabbath

  1. I also asked that to my self every time the Sabbath day comes. What should I read for my children during Sabbath? I am glad that I found this article, it will going to help me a lot.

    Sabbath

Leave a Reply

