Partial-Preterist Post-Millenialist

One of the courses I am engaged in this term has been a look at the Doctrine of the Last Things or better labeled “Eschatology”. In this class we have barely yet to scratch the surface as far as ripping apart the pertinent texts like Matthew 25, Revelation 20, 1 Thess 4 & 5, and 2 Thess 2. Before taking this course I had not thought through this stuff very much as where I was before put little to no emphasis on these type of subjects and never had a reason to “stake out a territory” so to speak. So after reading other books prior to this class and in reading an excellent book by Cornelis Venema (an optimistic A-Mill) and beginning a work by Marcellus Kik (a Post-Mill) I have come to the following conclusions (for now)…

1) I believe in Partial Preterism.

What does that mean? Basically it means that I hold that the majority of the events prophesied in Scripture dealing with the “end times” refer to and were fulfilled in the destruction of Jerusalem and the Temple cult by the Romans in A.D. 70.

2) I believe the Millennium is symbolic.

The literal 1,000 years that Dispensational Pre-Millennialists push is not Scriptural or in keeping with the Biblical text. In other words the reference to 1,000 years in Revelation 20 is not meant to be taken as a literal 1,000 years.

3) I believe that Christ will come back at the end of the Millennium

Which makes me a post-millennialist (also one thing that A-Mills and Post-Mills share).

4) I believe that Revelation was written before the fall of Jerusalem in A.D. 70.

I would highly recommend Ken Gentry’s work here. Basically that the Book of Revelation was written during the reign of Nero. Also that Nero Caesar is the sixth king who is the one who is in Revelation 17:10.

Suggested Reading List

An Eschatology of Victory by Marcellus Kik

The Last Days According to Jesus by R.C. Sproul, Sr.

Before Jerusalem Fell by Kenneth L. Gentry, Jr.

He Shall Have Dominion by Kenneth L. Gentry, Jr.

Post-Millenialism: An Eschatology of Hope by Keith Mathison

Days of Vengeance by David Chilton

The Promise of the Future by Cornelis Venema

This will be the first of several posts on Eschatological issues that will help flesh out my beliefs and illustrate how and why the Scriptures teach what I have professed above.

13 thoughts on “Partial-Preterist Post-Millenialist

  1. Before you become too entrenched in your eschatological views, I would highly recommend reading Robert Mounce’s Commentary on Revelation in the NICNT series. He has some good arguments why Revelation was written post 70 AD. I also like his assessment of who the book was written to, why it was written, and what it was written about. Books on Millenial Views are nice, but Commentaries on Revelation, IMO, are better.

  2. Good stuff. The real differences between the Amill and the Postmill is the earthly nature of the kingdom in this “church age”, and the subsequent success of the Great Commission. Romans 11 is also a dividing issue.

  3. Hi Benjamin,
    Good run down on your positions. Are you planning on reading anything by Kim Riddlebarger? He’s one of the top current A-millls of our time. I wish I had time to read some of those books. It looks like a great list.
    Blessings

  4. Benjamin, very good post and site. I found you via Puritan Lad. I am with you on the Mill view. I look forward to the rest of your post, and if you don’t mind I will add you to my blogroll.

    Blessings,

    Les Prouty

  5. 3) I believe that Christ will come back at the end of the Millennium

    Which makes me a post-millennialist (also one thing that A-Mills and Post-Mills share).

    In reference to this you say Christ will come back at the end of the Millennium; so which Millennium? A Millennium being 1000 years, and you believe the events prophesied in Scripture dealing with the โ€œend timesโ€ refer to and were fulfilled in the destruction of Jerusalem and the Temple cult by the Romans in A.D. 70., and 1000 years have long since past..at what point did he already return, or has the 1000 years really not occurred yet?

  6. If you want to read a reader’s feedback ๐Ÿ™‚ , I rate this post for four from five. Decent info, but I just have to go to that damn google to find the missed bits. Thanks, anyway!

Leave a Reply

